Getting Your Motivation Back

What do you do when the fires in your chest dwindle down to embers?

What do you do when you used to feel like king kong (the new one where he’s tearing apart t-rex’s left and right) when you walk into the gym?

What do you do when your start feeling a slight tingle of fear when three wheels get put on the bench when you can rep it for 6?

What do you do when you used live for max effort squat/dead day but now you start trying to make up excuses to do something other than heavy pin pulls or front squats?

How do you get your motivation back?!? I’ve been lifting for over three years now and I am slowly fading away.

What do you do?

Take time off.

Switch things up?

i went through this same thing a few weeks ago and i took some time off. i spent a few weeks doing cardio and some push ups/pull ups, i gave myself extra rest days and i eventually just wanted to get back in to it.

see if you can change your whole schedule around. i noticed i felt burned out around finals time, but i was much busier than normal with work, finishing up last minute assignments, studying for finals and i was pretty stressed about a difficult finance class i was taking.

i think the combined stress caused me to shun weights for the time. the jogging, biking, jump roping et cetera on the other hand was kind of therapeutic as i get sort of trance like when doing cardio.

maybe you are using a lot of energy else where and need to figure out what it is that is causing your feelings at the gym, then work on that.

To me, motivation is strongly linked with progress. The best progress often comes when you simplify things.

Pick a specific goal and focus on it. Do everything necessary to reach that goal. Ditch everything that will not help you reach it. After some time, reevaluate.

Works for me.