T Nation

Getting the Body of a Sprinter for Track

im a high school student who is doing track this year. i have around a 15% body. it is my first time joining a sport and i want to do great at it and get an awesome body too. right now i am a 16 year old 6ft in teenage boy who is skinny fat.

since most of the workouts in track are hiit and cardio based i have decided to bulk up during the off season so i can gain muscle.

imma start cutting around preseason.

is it a good idea to bulk and cut for track. how come some high school sprinters don't have abs at all

i asked some sprinters at my high school if track helped them get a six pack. they said no way at all.

It’s a great idea to increase your strength for sprinting. If you really want to become successful at it, the focus of your training should be tailored to increase performance, not aesthetics. As with all sports, nothing makes you better at that sport than…practicing that sport. Your sprint training should be your primary endeavour with time in the weight room coming second. As a newbie to training, you probably can’t go wrong with a standard linear progression based on compound movements. As long as you are eating enough good food to support your activities, you should get stronger and faster. In terms of the six pack, that is more a function of how lean you are as opposed to how developed your abs are. The nice thing about training for function is that improvements in appearance usually follow. If you throw yourself wholeheartedly into sprinting, you should experience a really nice body recomposition .

[quote]libanbolt wrote:
i am a 16 year old 6ft in teenage boy who is skinny fat.[/quote]
What do you weigh?

[quote]since most of the workouts in track are hiit and cardio based i have decided to bulk up during the off season so i can gain muscle.

imma start cutting around preseason.[/quote]