Getting Strong Then Big, Smart?

I’m 17 175 pounds & 6’0, and to save you time, i am already very informed on nutrition & macronutrients, although i do not follow a meal plan anymore considering the time it took away from my very busy schedule. i’ve been lifting for around 8 months and was obsessed with getting bigger the first part but now i care about being strong while still looking good. I’ve been doing 5x5 and have gotten considerably stronger and my mindset is if i get strong as fuck then when i try to get big gains will be faster. i think this because in my opinion bench pressing 10 reps of 135 makes less gains than bench pressing 10 reps of 225, 315 & so on. am i right or wrong? when i started trying to get big i wasn’t that strong but i’m getting there now. Is this smart? Advice & input would be very much appreciated.

Your next seven years are the time in which you can do both very well. Use them to the best of your ability. Lift hard, eat well, and do your best to avoid injuries.

Get on something like Bill Starrs or Doug Hepburn method and don’t steer away for a year. Once progress slows, go Texas method. Then hop on 531, Cube, Juggernaut or something similar. Once you get bored on one, go to the next. I recently went back to a similar Hepburn Method and I’m loving it at the moment. It’s very simple to gain strength and size. The part that isn’t simple is being consistent and pushing for progress. Adding a rep a week, or 5 pounds here and there is the way to go long term. Also, you don’t have to add weight to everything. Try and get a heavy session in in an hour. Try and do a set faster than last week. Just stay consistent and persistent.

Getting bigger and stronger goes hand in hand if you get strong on a large enough variety of exercise, like 15 or so (including squat/bench/dead) instead of only 3, the bench/squat/dead

3 Likes