T Nation

Getting Past My Plateau

hey...first let me introduce myself...

my names zach im 16 i live in the high desert of california.

i have been lifting for about 2 years, gone through many many different training methods and gotten good gains in all my lifts and muscles. i have pretty good definition in my chest,shoulders,arms,and back. but i feel i have hit a plateau in my training.

right now my training consists of:

5-6 days a week of intense cardio work (usually using 5 exercises tabata style, high numbers of bodyweight exercises done in circuits with no rest)

3-4 days weight lifting ( i usually shoot for the 8-12 rep range, taking no more than 45 seconds of rest between sets)

i am trying to lean out more, but it seems like no matter how hard i work i cannot get past this plateau. i have lost tons of fat from when i was younger, i am not sure about the numbers but you can definately see it when you look at pictures.

right now i am in the process of experimenting with the warrior diet, basically out of desperation because no other diets have worked for me.

can anybody make any suggestions towards getting past this plateau and continuing to lose fat from my body?

eat less... it really is that simple

Burn more calories then you take in and you will lose weight. Sounds like your really over doing the cardio and even almost turning your weight training into more cardio....

First pick a program from this site that has you lifting heavy weights with lower reps and longer rest periods.

Second keep a food log and log how many calories you take in a day and figure out what you need to do from there. Might want to go back to slightly higher calories for awhile and hope to get back a normal matabolism, as with dieting and doing cardio 5 days a week I wouldnt be at all suprised if yours is crashed.

If you're experimenting with the warrior diet, I'm not sure that 'eat less' is good advice. Perhaps 'eat consistently well' - lots of resources here for that.