Getting Past Frustration

Okay, so a tiny bit of backstory… I’ve been lifting weights for roughly 6 months consistently. I eat well, keep my calorie intake in check, etc. Recipe for success right? I’ve lost probably 30-ish lbs and gained a bit of muscle, but I haven’t reached my goal yet.

Here’s the problem. I’m stuck. I’ve even added volume and days to my weightlifting and it doesn’t matter. I can’t drop these last 9 lbs and my inches aren’t changing either. I’m feeling defeated and I don’t know what to do. What’s missing? Maybe I just need some encouragement or something. I don’t know.

First, congratulations on losing 30 pounds! Takes a lot of work and discipline to do that.

Now, to the scientific part. Going to ask a couple questions to get a better read.

1. What is the breakdown of your diet? Total calories, grams of protein, grams of carbs, grams of fat.
  2. Are you doing any cardio right now? I know when I want to lose weight, doing a mixture of sprint cardio and long steady state helps. This is in addition to your weightlifting.
  3. What does your weightlifting program look like right now?

You might just have to mix it up a bit and give your body a new challenge. It’s an amazingly adaptable machine and you have to surprise it every so often.

Hey PixieThrower,

Thanks!

1. Total calories is roughly 1500 on non-workout days with added calories to round out workout days. Protein is between 175 and 200 grams a day, carbs 100-150, fat 50 max. 2 meals a day are taken up by protein shakes and usually I add a Metabolic Drive bar on workout days.

2 + 3. I vascillate between doing cardio and not, depending on what workout program I’m doing. I just started a new one, where I have 4 days a week at the gym. 2 days of legs, 2 days of upper body. I’m on my 2nd week and now that I’ve got a bit of a groove I’m adding cardio. I have bikram yoga 1x a week and I do half an hour of Just Dance daily, plus walking my dog.