T Nation

Getting In Shape to Compete

First off I want to apologize if I posted this in the wrong forum and for the long post. I am a newbe to this site and my questions are about both dieting and bodybuilding.

I am fairly new to lifting weights but it has become a part of my life now. I have been lifting weights for a bout a year and half and I have made some great gains but I feel like they came just because my body was not used to the weight training. I went from 165lbs to 200lbs with maybe 20-25% body fat and I would just eat anything that was in front of me. Now that I am hooked I want to go to the next level ( maybe competing)but I have never dieted and I need some help.

Here is my question I have researched as much information as I can but I just don’t know what I need to do to get in the shape to compete. I know I need to be lean but I am afraid if I diet then I will lose my mass and if I lose my mass than I am back to being skinny, I would also like to continue getting bigger. I just don’t want to be big with a high body fat percentage.

I heard about the anabolic diet, which has lead me to this site. Is the AD diet let you gain muscle while cutting or is there even such a diet? I also thought about trying the I bodybuilding program with the diet. Does anyone have any other diets or training programs that would help me out? If anyone could help me out I would greatly appreciate advice on this issue. Just an fyi I would like to get up to about 215lbs and around 10-15% body fat.