T Nation

Getting Heavier. Need Advice on Leaning Out!

Hi,

I am 27, I’ve used to be a competitive rower when I was younger ( I started lifting weights when I was 15) and when I was 20-21 I stopped rowing (I needed more time to study and work) and focused solely on weightlifting. When I was a rower I used to weigh 165-170 lbs. Over the course of the years I started gaining weight steadily (I am not very tall, 5’7) something that I liked in the beginning but that, after years went by, started to become a problem. I used to have a very demading job (I am an engineer) with lots of travel and I blamed my weight gain to that in the beginning. I switched my job in order to get my life back on track about six months ago, but it is not working out as I expected. I weighted about 202 lbs when I quitted my last job and I am now approaching 220 lbs. I do not fear getting heavier but I don’t know if it’s healthy or not. Some lifts for you to consider (1 rep max):

Back Squat: 400 lbs
Front Squat: 330 lbs
Snatch: 225 C&J: 300
Bench Press: 240 lbs

I train 3 (or 4 if I can) times a week, and I’m heavily focused on olympic weightlifting.

To be honest, I went to the doctor, did blood work and got scanned, and everything seems fine. However, he told me that it would be best for me to be lighter, and he recommended a nutritionist. This woman knows about food and is trying to help me, but she is not a sports expert and I don’t think that the diet she gave me is working. Right now I eat five times a day:

1. When I wake up at 6.30AM, I eat a cheese sandwich with coffee and a banana.
  2. At 10 AM I eat some nuts and dried fruit.
  3. 12.30 PM in general is when I have lunch at work. I try to eat clean, avoid bread, and always try to have a combination of meat and vegetables. I am very hungry before lunch, always.
  4. I have a small meal at 4.30 or 5 PM before training, usually the same food I eat for breakfast.