T Nation

Getting Hate for Doing 5/3/1

Not related to the actual lifting part of 5/3/1, but over the last month or so, I’ve been perusing YouTube just watching lifting videos, as per the usual.

My title is somewhat clickbait. I am not personally getting hate for doing 5/3/1, but I’ve noticed that in the videos I watch on 5/3/1, it’s been about a 50/50 split in terms of positive reviews and negative reviews. I won’t name names because I still enjoy watching the people who don’t enjoy/use/approve of 5/3/1, but this is my question for you guys:

Why do some people hate 5/3/1? What is so bad about it? I’ve been doing it for almost 3 months now and I’m already miles ahead of my old PRs. The only somewhat viable complaint I’ve heard about 5/3/1 is that there isn’t enough volume (which is easily remedied by adding assistance work however you feel you need to).

A lot of what I’ve been seeing is offhand remarks like, “as long as you aren’t doing Texas Method or 5/3/1, we’re good,” or “Lead us not into 5/3/1, and deliver us from evil. Amen.” I can’t really tell if these guys are being serious, or if 5/3/1 is to the weight lifting world what Coldplay and Nickelback are to the music world (not a Coldplay or Nickelback fan, but there’s nothing wrong with them).

I feel like I’m missing something. Sorry if this is a stupid question, but it’s working so well for me, I can’t really imagine that it doesn’t work for everyone as long as their diet is right. Thanks guys

Lots of people want to get video views or clicks or whatever else (who cares). Or they desperately need to win their dick swinging contests online, argue about who’s doing the coolest and hardest workout that day, blah blah blah.

It’s the same for a ton of things online and you’ll find it everywhere for just about anything if you look. Internet posting brings out the worst in a lot of ‘hardcore’ online lifters who need to share how much they killed themselves this one specific day.