Getting From Lard-Ass to Hard Ass!

G’day all,

I’m a newbie here (go easy!) who needs advice on getting in shape thanks to a sh*tty lifestyle and one too many Mars Bars! I’ve been reading a few threads on here and thought the Metabolism Repair Plan applied to me, so I’ve begun formulating a diet with these recommendations in mind.

However, because I’ve never dieted this way or weight-trained before I reckon I need all the help I can get. Any tips?

Here’s my details to enlighten you…

AGE - Just turned 35 years old.
WEIGHT - 191 lbs or 86.7kg as of today.
HEIGHT - 5ft 10 inches or 177cm tall.
WAIST - 37 inch waist.

I’ll be up-front with you, my build is pretty embarrassing! Never developed a chest, so I still look boyish and I’ve got more than a touch of the moobs happening! Stomach is flabby, and I’m pudgy all over.

My goals? I’d like to be happy with how I look when I take my shirt off in the summer! Seriously, my main goals are to lose the fat, build a bit of all-over muscle, a nice v-shaped upper body including some abs and regain a waist size of 32", even 30" if it’s humanly possible.

I don’t want to look like anything as big as Arnie but a defined, strong physique would be nice. If this description is no help at all, I can dig out a photo of someone’s physique that I’d like to emulate if needed?

I can also supply photos of myself if that helps you understand how I’m ‘built’ at present? If that’s a ‘yes’ to the last question, keep a sick-bag handy! I’ll expect to be torn to shreds saying I’ve not got an ounce of muscle under the fat but hey, everyone’s gotta start somewhere, right?!

Besides the flab I can handle exercise okay. My lifting strength will be laughable compared to you guys but I’m not averse to sweating it out. I’m asthmatic but nothing too drastic and with exercise I hope I can improve this. If cardio is also required, tips also be helpful.