T Nation

Getting Faster in Track and Field

we started winter track this week and today was the first time we actually ran on the track. this is my first year running track.
coach split the distance runners and the sprinters.
we ran the 300m,200m,and the 100m.

my times were
300m-56s
200m-35s
100m-15s

i came dead last in the 300m and the 200m. i got second to last during the 100m, that made me a little happy. basically im the slowest sprinter. i really don’t want to stay the slowest

will i get fast enough to get a 20-23s 200m or a 10-11s 100m.

^^^

i wish you the best… always great to have goals in sports… slow that time down 5 seconds in the 200 and 3-4 seconds in the 100… then when, and if you hit those goals, set some more goals… that 20 sec 200 and 10 sec 100 are world class times…

the 20 sec 200 and 10 sec 100 are world class times… i wish you the best, but talk to your coach and have him help you set a bit more realistic goal… good luck

Are you lifting at all?

what events are you running man? you look skinny. depending on what event you are training for, depends highly on the type of training you should do. even if you are a sprinter, I think a day or 2 every week with good distance is something you should consider.

as a young guy, i was running 2:20s for the 800m, and by my sr yr, i was running 1:57 for 800m, and 50 seconds flat for 400m. shaving time can be done. i did it through 4 yrs of consistency, some lifting, and great competition.

I ran track both of my kids ran track so I watched a lot of track.

I never saw any sprinter start slow and get fast by the end of hs.

what is wrong with trying a longer race.

You have a lot better chance if you move up to the 1500 or 3000 or whatever the race is in your state.

[quote]tom1961 wrote:
I ran track both of my kids ran track so I watched a lot of track.

I never saw any sprinter start slow and get fast by the end of hs.

what is wrong with trying a longer race.