T Nation

Getting Desired Results

Hello everyone, I’m a college freshman who has been utilizing the fitness center at school since last Fall. My friends have noticed an increase in muscle mass especially on my arms. I too notice it but I am not satisfied. I feel that my arms are simply getting bulky and I want to tone what I already have while continuing to build muscle.

I see no definition in my body just size and I’m only 5’6, and simply getting bigger in time will look awkward. Any tips on toning my arms, chest, and abs?

Also, I have almost like shin splints in my wrists and the guys at the gym say I probably have stress fractures in my forearms. I’m just too stubborn to get them x-rayed because I don’t want to know the truth. So if you know any good forearm exercises, that would be great!

OK it seems like you don’t know any better - first of all, some stats would be good…your weight, age, diet, training, etc.

To get your muscles showing, you first have to have some - there is no point trying to lose weight when you have no muscle because you’ll end up looking like a metro and you don’t want that. If you are getting bigger then keep at it; once you’ve added 50lbs to your frame then consider cutting any fat you may have.

Also, don’t use the word “tone”, it’s banned around here.

Im no expert but definition or tone is a loose term based on muscle size/bodyfat ratio. Whats your BF %? Are you training anywhere else or just arms?

Again im no expert, but id recommend that you might want to get those wrists checked out. Wouldn’t want your bodybuilding career to be over by the time you quit college due to knackered wrists or joints.

You need to get your right amount of calories, rest, weight training volume and add mass on to you. Then begin to worry about definition.

[quote]aarforce27 wrote: