T Nation

Getting Deadlift Off the Ground

I’ve been deadlifting since January and since then, have progressed to about BWx1.7

I have noticed that I can lockout any weight I can get off the ground. Is there any training I can do to help increase strength in the lower portion of the deadlift? Please don’t say keep deadlifting, I’ve been deadlifting for several months and my progress has stalled.

Any help is appreciated

not sure, but deadlift is legs/back so id say squatting, zerchers, rack deads, and romanian deadlifts

Stand on a box that allows the bar to almost touch the tops of the feet. Keep your form the same as you would if pulling a regular deadlift, only now you must get the hips much deeper to initiate the pull. Everything
stays the same! You will find you will have to use much less weight to perform this lift.

You need to improve your quad strength for the bottom portion of the lift (That’s not to say that your other muscles arent important in the bottom portion of the lift.).

I would do front squats or lunges or bulgarian split squats in addition to your normal heavy back squats.

Obviously keep deadlifting but maybee back off on the weight a little and work on setting some rep records with lighter weights. When you get back to heavy deadlifts I think you’ll be suprised at how much stronger you are.

Another thing you might try (I think I got this from Thib)…if you have access to a power rack, set the pins low (use a platform if necessary as well), setup the bar to pull from the floor as your norm and perform some iso holds (pull the bar into the pins, trying to pull through the pins). Keep you ROM within the first 3-6 inches to help strenghthen your body for getting out of the hole.

Also, see

to build some hip/posterior chain strength.

just my .02

Deadlift from a deficit explosively. Make sure your form is still proper. As you get stronger it is easy to develop bad habits and compensate them up until a certain point.