T Nation

Getting Bigger/Stronger While Cycling?

So, I am a student always looking for ways to save a buck. I am thinking of getting a nice road bike and cycling/busing rather than driving for the most part. However, I am also interested in getting bigger and stronger. Has anyone here had experience with cycling while lifting? My commute would be about 13km to school, another 13km home. Assume I do this 3-4 x a week. Is it possible to still get bigger and stronger?

I'm 5'9, proportioned like a tall guy... long limbs. I am not a short stocky guy. I am not looking to get huge or competition ready strong... just respectable. If I can be a lean 180ish lbs, and have some decent strength I am happy.

I recently started 5/3/1. Am doing a bodybuilder template. Mon/Tues/Thurs/Fri

Monday:

BB Squat 5/3/1
BB Squat 4x10-15 of 50% 1RM
Leg Extensions (4x12-20)
Good Mornings (4x10-15
Weighted Decline Situps (4x10-20)

Tuesday:

BB Bench 5/3/1
Weighted Dips (4x10-15)
Incline DB Bench (4x10-15)
Chest Fly (4x10-15)
Tri Rope Pressdown (4x12-20)

Thursday:

DL 5/3/1
Chins (4xMax)
DB Rows (4x10-15)
BB Shrugs (4x10-15)
Hanging Leg Raise (4x20)

Friday:

BB Military Press 5/3/1
DB Military Press (4x10-15)
Upright Rows (4x10-15)
Lateral Raises (4x10-15)
BB Curls (4x10-15)

What would I need to change, if anything, if I started to commute by bike while still wanting to get bigger and stronger? I am guessing that something has to give.

13 km is nothing, especially on a road bike, assuming you don’t have any major hills along your way. If you took it easy, I don’t think you’d see a huge impact on your training once you get adjusted to the bike.