Getting Bigger/Stronger for Crossfit Using 5/3/1

I have been doing crossfit for about 2 years now and i would like to get alot stronger and a bit bigger so i can compete but as most people now its hard to do if all you do is metcons!! I was thinking of doing 5/3/1 beyond or the boring but big cycle, which do you think would benefit more in my training?

Also what would be the best way to introduce it into my training? just straight up doing the cycles on the specified days and then training crossfit on the other days or trying to work them into what i do already?

You may catch a lot of flak for mentioning crossfit :wink:

However, I would say that if you want to get big and strong, you should probably ditch the crossfit. I say this because I too had a number of training goals which weren’t ‘get big and strong’, and I did crossfit/endurance training and all other sports appropriate to them. When I decided that the goal was to ‘get big and strong (while maintaining athleticism/GPP/Endurance)’, I found that I was distinctly average at all of them.

It is only over the last 6 months that I have started to ‘get bigger and stronger’ by making the weights my primary goal. I have set some strength goals and everything else either contributes to that (and stays), or hinders that goal (and gets thrown out).

I think that unless you are genetically gifted, if you try to have too many goals, you will only ever be average at them. Otherwise, you might find yourself being distinctly average at everything.

Of course, I do not wish to question your goals, rather suggest that in my (limited) experience, if you want to get big and strong. Maybe you should focus on that particular goal? I have and I am loving the strength/size gains.

Covered in 5/3/1 page 85.

531 second addition he offers a tempkate for this purpose

[quote]Boilerroom wrote:
Covered in 5/3/1 page 85. [/quote]

In the 2nd Edition FYI.

[quote]daniel4738 wrote: