Getting Back to Basics (Calling DJ)

Coach John,

I need help. I’m 32, and I’ve been training for 6 years; always careening from one training modality to the next. Chronic routine changer? That would be me. Weights, martial arts, a bit of running, kettlebells… Stop the madness!

So I’ve reached a point of paralysis by analysis, and I really need a simple, basic routine.

I’m a bit on the skinny side; 6’ and around 180 lbs. Not much fat, but then again, not exactly bursting with lean muscle tissue either. So my goal is to gain weight and get stronger. Yeah, I know. I’m pretty unique.

I know I should just eat more, and I’m working on that. Lately I’ve discovered the wondrous cocktail of raw eggs and orange juice, and I’ve got plans to include more snacks and a second dinner. I won’t see the abs for a while, but that’s ok. I can only barely see them now, anyway.

Exercise-wise, I want to chin, dip and deadlift. An overhead press would be nice, and maybe even some curls. Back squats are out - there’s no rack where I train. I could possibly include front squats, but I’ll have to try them out for a bit first. The O-lifts are sadly not an option either. The bar and weights are not what you’d call first class, and there’s no platform. Cleans could work, however. Basically, I’m open to any suggestions.

To avoid overanalysing, I’m thinking fixed rep range (3 sets of 8?), increasing weight only when I get all the reps. As for frequency, I’m at a loss. I can train up to 5 days/week (3-4 days would probably be better), but I’m unsure how to group the exercises. I realise your advice would probably be to Try It And See, but right now I absolutely need some rigid structure.

Should I lay completely off the cardio? I don’t own a car, so I walk nearly everywhere. I’ve been doing a bit of hill sprinting and some light KB swings/snatches, but nothing I’m really addicted to.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

/Ink

Ink,