Getting a Little Discouraged

Im 47 and I started lifting in April of 2015 having never lifted before. Im doing fine with my upper body strength, but I feel like Im struggling with squats and deadlifts. I have about 15 years of construction, but have been riding a desk and truck for about the last 13 years. I just cant seem to get comfortable squatting especially. Maybe due to some hip mobility issues affecting my form. I just dont feel comfortable at heavier weights…Anyway, Ill post some stats below. I just dont know if I am expecting too much at my age…considering my lack of activity the past 13 years or so…
5’11"- 225lbs was 215 when I started last year.
My last numbers for each workout. All in lbs
Bench -240x5
Military press-160x6
Squat-230x8
Deadlift-285x6

I think you might be on to something with your hip/ankle/knee mobility, but I don’t really have any specific advice for you on that. Mine improved from just squatting more, but I don’t know if everyone is like that.

What I can speak to is the importance of letting your ego go with squats. Squatting has become a lot more popular in my gym lately, and I observe many men both young and old start with decent-looking squats at 135 or so. Then, as weight gets added, they look shittier and shittier until they aren’t even doing squats anymore, but some type of weighted knee bend. Perhaps that is part of their training plan, but I’d say ego-squats for the sake of having “heavy” weight on the bar are much more likely.

If I were in their position, I would work up to whatever weight I can confidently hit a good depth with, that doesn’t cause any joint pain, and then push that weight for reps. Add 10 pounds the next week and do it again, and again, and again.