T Nation

Getting a Job at a Gym?

Here is the deal. I am a full time student and would like to get a part time job to help out the income. I am currently living off my savings which will last a little while longer but not very long. I'm in school m-f 9-12, have worked out at gyms in the past and currently use the one at my school. The problem is my gym is only open m-f, 9-5 and its always full of people not really working out just taking up space. There is a Planet Fitness opening up about a mile from my house and it would be nice to pick up a part time gig there with possibility of free use of the gym. So my question is what do these places normally pay and what do they look for. My past experience is managerial, CAD, customer service and I pretty much know my way around a gym.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

seriously I’d apply for the gym…heck I just applied to my gym for part time as a means of extra income…not a bad idea, plus it’s a free membership.

?!? Just go in and ask.

[quote]Snookerd wrote:
Here is the deal. I am a full time student and would like to get a part time job to help out the income. I am currently living off my savings which will last a little while longer but not very long. I’m in school m-f 9-12, have worked out at gyms in the past and currently use the one at my school. The problem is my gym is only open m-f, 9-5 and its always full of people not really working out just taking up space. There is a Planet Fitness opening up about a mile from my house and it would be nice to pick up a part time gig there with possibility of free use of the gym. So my question is what do these places normally pay and what do they look for. My past experience is managerial, CAD, customer service and I pretty much know my way around a gym. Any thoughts or suggestions?[/quote]

I believe Planet Fitness pays in pizza and bagels.