Get Your Butt In Gear Program

I read “Get your Butt in Gear”, and I want to build a lifting program around it (my squat is very weak), but I’m a little unsure of how to start. I’m looking for suggestions on how best to put together a routine using the exercises featured in the article (reps, sets, days per week, etc).

Maybe a basic template or some sample routines others have had success with. If it matters, I’m 5’9", 180lbs, deadlift MAX - 365, benchpress MAX - 250, squat MAX - I don’t know, but it’s weak (maybe 250, not ass to grass?) I just started lifting regularly again two months ago after some years of laziness. Thanks.

good thinking…just add in some of the exercises they outline in the articles. Dynamic warmups-hip mobility stuff, glute activation before any leg training, etc. This stuff isn’t cool or popular but it’s absolutely necessary.

Yes best thing you can do is follow the article and put together a program you feel is good THEN come back post it for a critique then we can all comment on it and help you tweek it.

Phill

Alright, here’s what I came up with. I wanted something basic, because I don’t think I’m advanced enough to really benefit from getting hung up on details. My goal is simply to fix my squat form and get my MAX squat more proportional to my other lifts.

Every workout will begin with about 10 minutes of Dynamic Flexibility and then 10 minutes of Motor Control exercises; I will just perform each exercise listed in the article for about a minute (except the ones that require equipment I don’t have). Then I will do my Strength Training, and then finish with 10 minutes of Static Flexibility work, again just going through the stretches described in the article.