German Body Comp Questions from First Timer

Just got Poliquin’s book on German Body Comp. Very excited about getting started, but I have some questions that I cannot find answers to in the book, nor after sifting through many articles on this site.

1. How many carbs/day does Poliquin really recommend? I have seen articles where he says forty to fifty grams is plenty for most people, but in the book he says 40% carbs/30% fats/30% protein. And he recommends carbs in post-workout drinks - are those in addition?

I have been training consistently for twenty years (just turned 39), and have successfully dieted down several times. Over the last couple of years, though, for the first time I really wasn’t sticking to my lifting, and I was unable to stick to a strict diet for very long.

Finally I got fed up and just went on Atkins just to get back into my “correct” jeans size, and have been quite pleased. I’m sold on the low-carb lifestyle for my body, but I want to find the lowest carb intake that will allow me to rebuild and maintain the muscle mass I used to have.

I basically hit on Poliquin as a low-carb/high-muscle proponent while researching options, which is one reason I ordered the GBC book.

1. I have a fairly well-equipped home gym, but no leg curl machine to hit the hams directly and no roman chair for hyper and reverse hyperextensions. All the workouts seem to have these exercises in them. Are there some good substitutes for these?

2. The workouts also tend to have direct ab work like leg lowering, rope crunches, etc. Due to a hernia operation years ago that didn’t heal right, I simply cannot do direct ab work - pain in the scar tissue and my nuts prevents it.

Are there some other good exercises to sub in for direct ab work, or can I reorganize the workout with a few other exercises that will keep the lactate up but not overtrain any muscle groups?