T Nation

Genetics Do Make a Difference w/ Strength Potential

Hello fellow lifters,

I’ve been lurking around t-nation and other various sites for fitness enthusiasts for awhile. I’ve been lifting for awhile about 6 years now. The first 3 were to compliment basketball and the last three have been geared towards building muscle and powerlifting. Anyways I reviewed a thread on T-nation about genetics and many were marginalizing its role. On one side I agree with those that say genetics don’t matter because most people will not train hard enough to even get close to that limit. On the other hand, there is what I’m about to post.

When we think about genetics, we often forget about things that really help or hinder a persons growth. For instance tendon and ligament durability. There are those people such as myself that can and have gained a significant amount of muscle and strength but run into issues that limit progress. My tendons and ligaments hate heavy lifting and super explosive movements. (Complete tear of Achilles going to dunk, patella tear squatting, pec major tendon strains x3 benching). I’ve worked really hard on flexibility and mobility and have spent the money on coaches but my progression has been limited. For example, ive reset my bench progression 3 times. Each time getting up to 295 for 3-5 reps. My chest and triceps are ready for more but my pec tendon becomes inflamed once I start going heavier. Heavier I go, the more it hurts. Same for squats. My deadlift has been virtually unaffected. I was able to increase that 365lb to 525 in 1 year. Hope for 600 in another 18 months.

Genetics matter when it comes to VO2 max, lung capacity (why males are better distance runners than females)

The combination of fast twitch and slow twitch muscle fibers matter as well. I was dunking a basketball at 5’9 in the ninth grade. (6’2 now)