T Nation

Genetic Set Points?

I started lifting weights 13 years ago with the dream of one day being a competitive bodybuilder. Not a pro, of course. But I have always wanted to get onstage and make a repectable showing at a local contest.

I am 31 now. I have added 35 pounds of muscle. But over the last five years, my gains have ground to a halt. I have been suffering new injuries and strains seemingly everytime I step in the gym. No amount of calories or intensity seems to add any more muscle.

My questions are simple. Is there a genetic set point at which it is simply impossible to gain any more muscle naturally? And if there is, is it feasible that I have hit it at 5’10" and only 165 pounds? That is the bodyweight I have been banging my head against for the last five years. And it utterly sucks to think I may never add the extra 20 pounds of muscle I need to reach my goal of stepping onstage.

If anyone has any questions about the eating and workout programs I have tried, I will be glad to answer. But, please, no newbie advice like “eat more” or “deadlift.” Thanks for your replies…

I think posting your workout plan and at least how many calories your taking in and P/C/F percentages would be a good idea.

Honestly I’ve never met anyone your size who has reached there genetic limit, and I’m sure many others are at least a little skeptical.

[quote]Rocket Lax wrote:
No amount of calories or intensity seems to add any more muscle.
[/quote]

What is added if you increase calories? Seriously, are you saying increasing calories results in nothing?

You probably need to give more attention to your injury situation. If you are hurt, your body isn’t going to grow.

Do you keep a food log? training log?

[quote]Soco wrote:
You probably need to give more attention to your injury situation. If you are hurt, your body isn’t going to grow.

[/quote]