T Nation

Genetic Potential

id like to first start off by sayin i know im too young to cycle. ive just been researching and have some questions for when i begin to in the distant future

ive always read that AAS shouldnt be started until maximum genetic potential is reached. ive been 5'10 and worn a size 12 shoe since about the 7th grade (age 12/13). im now 18 and those numbers are the same. ive been training for about 3-4 years and my lifts are bench around 300, squat and deadlift lower 500. my lifts have recently started to return to their peaks after several injuries and a surgery. im making decent gains and would not start a cycle until i felt my lifts have caught up to where they should be. i plan to reach around 230 solid before starting any cycles.

how does this sound? im not sure of the rules here so forgive me if im getting myself in trouble by talking about this. im a bb.com user and know these things arent talked about there and through lurking on tnation, it seems as if the rules are a little more lax here

no.

No what? Im not asking if I should start now.i clearly stated that that wasn't the case. Im asking how I can know when my genetic potential is reached. I've heard everything from 20-25. I know everyone is different and there's no way everyone is matured by the same age.

I don't think that "genetic potential" is determined by age. I would argue that it is more determined by physical development.

Regardless, you should not start a cycle until you are at least out of your teen years.

Genetic potential isnt a number. Obviously.

When you get there, you'll know. Yes. You will just know.

By the sounds of things, it seems you are actually asking when the body matures and stops developing (e.g. growth end plates close)? Is that what you mean by genetic potential? If you actually mean genetic potential as in how much muscle your body can carry naturally, likes BONEZ said, you will know.