Gatorade Good Carbohydrate?

Hi! I’m just beginning the Scrawny to Brawny program and was wondering if Gatorade is a suitable carbohydrate for my pre/during/post workout drinks?
If not, is there a cheap alternative?
The book talks of maltodextrin but I can’t find where to buy it.

Gatorade is fine during your workouts, or after if trying to also gain (if you add more carbs and protein to it). Obviously, Surge is ideal, but Gatorade is good to use to. If possible, use both!

Maltodextrin is just corn starch.

Fido99, can’t you get Surge? Is that too expensive (think about it; it’s not that much, really).

That’s the best thing you can take. If that’s not realistic for you, pursue alternatives.

Research has shown that post-workout, protein with carbs is better for recovery.

[quote]Need4Speed wrote:
Fido99, can’t you get Surge? Is that too expensive (think about it; it’s not that much, really).

That’s the best thing you can take. If that’s not realistic for you, pursue alternatives.[/quote]

Actually, I think Surge is a bit expensive when you take into account how many servings you’ll be consuming on workout days. S2B recommends a recovery drink before, during and after your workout. That’s 9 servings a week on the three day routine and 12 on the four day routine. A tub of Surge is $21, not including shipping, for 10 servings.

So on the three day routine you’re almost going through three tubs of Surge a week! If my math is correct, that would be $63 a week or $252 a month. Surge is great but that is expensive. I make my own recovery drink using maltodextrin and Hydrolyzed whey. You can find them both in bunk if you search around the internet.

This thread is a good read for those that think Surge is expensive.

http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=635903

[quote]Mattlaw27 wrote:
Need4Speed wrote:

That’s the best thing you can take. If that’s not realistic for you, pursue alternatives.