T Nation

Gains Slowed, Time to Up Calories?

Hey all,

So a little background info. Im 17 years old just about to turn 18. Im 6.2 160 pounds and around 9-11 percent body fat at the moment. My goals are to just gain muscle and strength, have no time line just want to continually gain strength and see gains.

I started training a little over two months ago for the first time in my life. I weighed a pathetic 139 pounds (not that im big or even close to big at all at my current state).

I have a super fast metabolism, and Ive been eating clean for the most part, but have getting a good 4500-5000 calories in a day, i feel like i could do more though, im hungry an hour or so after every meal.

Umm my training consists of a five day split just for the fact that i didn't know to much when i started and I kinda just stuck with it. Ive been seeing decent gains, my squat was 90 pounds when i started its 185 for reps now. My dead lift was 110 and is up to 275 for reps, and my bench (weakest lift) was around 60-70 when i started hahaha, and is up to around 150 for reps.

My question is, I have a really hard time gaining weight, i was gaining weight fast in the beging, and it has slowed down drastically. i can still see my abs, do you think it would be wise to up my cal intake more, or is that just over kill. Also should i switch the five day split to a push pull split or a 3 day split, or just leave it alone?

Any help would be really appreciated...thanks alot

Well if your weight gain has stalled, and you can still see your abs, then it's time to up calories. But then again if your strength keeps going up, maybe just hold steady and ride it out, and save the calories for when you plateau. 18 is a damn fine age to start working out, well done good sir.