Gaining weight

I’m pretty much a rookie when it comes to lifting weights. I’ve been lifting for about 2 months now. I guess you could say I’m one of those “skinny guys”. I’m 6’4" and weigh 215. I’ve lost 10lbs since I started lifting, but that’s not what I want. I am looking for a program to help me gain weight, including the right foods to eat with no help from supplements, and the right training program. I don’t have anything against supplements, they just don’t seem to like me. My liver became very swollen after taking the recommended dosages of creatine and glutamine. It seems every food plan I see includes supplements. Thanks for any help.

Search for and check out John Berardi’s article title “Massive Eating”. Make sure to read part 1 and 2. Also, you don’t want to gain weight, you want to gain muscle, so make sure you get your body composition measured. As someone who has done research in the field of body composition, it really doesn’t matter how you get your body fat measured (skinfolds, underwater weighing, Bod Pod, DEXA, etc.) but just make sure you use the same method eat time you get measured. Get a baseline and get measured frequently (at least monthly) if you are really trying to add the muscle and minimize the fat. Good luck and I’m happy to answer any body composition methodology questions you have.

OK so a search and read "The diet manefesto, the FAQ, dawg school articles, The missing ingredient, and everything else you can get your hands on. Good luck