T Nation

Gaining Weight the Only Way to Increase Power?

Since I’ve been training for a few months with Olympic lifters I’ve been hearing things such as “if you gained 30-40 lbs you’d be a real beast,” “you need to eat more dairy and gain more body fat to get stronger”, etc. I don’t understand why I’d need to increase body fat significantly to get higher numbers on my lifts. Back in high school I remember some skinny guys who were very powerful/strong, 165 lbs guys power cleaning 265, 175 lbs squatting 500, etc.

Myself, using a caliper on my obliques it reads at 7-8% body fat, but considering the results I had from a DEXA machine last year, it’s probably really around 9-10% at the most.

As far as weight fluctuations, this summer I was 207 lbs. I have lost about 15 lbs since then, have been eating a TON of healthy food ($600 minimum a month on groceries), and yet I still continue to get stronger and lose body fat. I’m not complaining, and personally I think the ability of the CNS to handle loads is more important than weight. Any thoughts?

You can do it, it just so happens that the bigger you are most of the time the faster you gain.

do it as long as you can, it wont last forever

edit for clarity (as in keep getting stronger, and eating lots of good food, because eventually you will need to eat more to get stronger and grow, my experience anyways)

My guess would be if you are eating more than normal, losing weight and getting stronger, then you werent eating enough to begin with. This happened to me when i began my bulking phase awhile back. Shouldnt last too long.