Gaining Muscle on Low Calorie Killing Fat Diet?

How realistic is it to gain muscle on a calorie restricted diet(Dr Darden’s Kill the Fat)?I have read that one needs to gain 10-15# to add an inch to their arms.How much can one expect to gain(if any) on Skinny Arm Cure and other similar specialization routines in a calorie deficit?I have a hard time believing gains would be noticeable if at all.

Unrealistic.

You are not gaining muscle unless you are a complete beginner or obese.

3 Likes

I think this would be a good article for you to read. Yes, it is possible to gain some muscle while calorie restricted, but it will be so little you wouldn’t know the difference. If you are a newbie, then you can lose fat and build muscle (recomp) for a short period, mostly due to adaptation to the new stressors. Still, this method is impeccably slow.

1 Like

Have you actually read the “Killing fat” book?

Dr Darden managed to show some interesting muscle gains on his study population (who also lost fat, which seemed to be as high a priority - hence the name of the book). The numbers and pictures are there for all to see. Many are the great examples.

If I remember correctly, he also show examples on how to bodybuild on this technique, with higher calorie intake. I have followed this method with good progression - But I have never been obese, and really need to keep a high calorie diet to develop.

1 Like

Having not read this one, how were those measurements taken?

Caliper readings + bodyweight repeatedly during the study with presentation of before and after. I believe this study was for 12 weeks but Dr Darden also presented measurements after only 4 weeks in some cases. Give or take on my accuracy here.

Dr. Darden has done studies like this for 40 years