Gaining Mass, Losing Fat

I was a shotputter in college and am relatively big, 250lbs. I’ve been working out since I was 15, but my goals have always been related to strength and performance.

Now that I dont have to worry how far the shot flies, I’m more concerned with how I look.

I’m about about 17% bodyfat. Obviously, I’d like to get that down a bit. I also would like to add mass to my arms and other places that were a bit neglected during my decade of cleaning and deadlifting.

So here’s my question, Is it possible to gain muscle while losing fat?

What would be my best approach to doing so?

I hear a lot of people talking about “bulking” and “cutting” phases, is it possible to do both at once. From reading some other threads it seems that its very difficult to do both. Also consider I’m a relative beginner bodybuilder and certainly have some excess fat to lose.

I’ve made some changes to my diet, following the 7 Habits article. I’ve already lost an inch off my waist this year.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Your question is one that many people ask. While it is possible it is very difficult but not at all practical. I would suggest dieting down see what you have to work with and go from there. Being 250 and 17% bf I’m sure you’re plenty big and will be suprised at how you look.

As for bringing up arms I suggerst compound movements that allow you to recruit the most muscle fiber possible which results in heavier loads being used. This means no 20lb tricep kickbacks. Instead do weight dips, close grip press, and maybe some skull crushers. For biceps try some weighted chin/pull-ups, bent over BB rows, heavy BB curls, and maybe some preacher work.

Hope this helped.

Check out the Velocity Diet.

Stick to the basic key exercises, and remember to lift explosively.

Check out the olympic lifts.