Gaining LBM While Holding or Losing BF?

G’day all, bit of a shocker for a first post I think but I couldn’t find anything really definitive through the search engine.

Now a little bit about myself, My name’s Dave, I’m 17, I’m quite untrained by T-Nation standards, that’s not to say I’m a complete newb to lifting, but I’m not exactly experienced by any means either. My main interest lies in combat sports, I love boxing, BJJ, etc.

Anyway, to get to the point, and I know how annoying and frequent question this may be, but is there any known methods of gaining LBM while minimizing or even losing bodyfat?

And I know I’m probably going to get some hate for this but I tried the traditional bodybuilding bulk/cut cycle. I hated it and to be honest, if the maximum amount of muscle we can build a week without Anabolics is about 1.0 lbs, then it would seem to me alot of calories just end up getting stored as fat.

What I’m trying to get is a definitive answer on whether such a method does actually exist. I know the Anabolic Diet has had great success for some, but like many others, muscle growth doesn’t happen for me on a ketogenic diet, then again, neither did fat. There were two methods that caught my eye, but I still don’t understand one of two.

Thib’s calorie/carb cycling mentioned in the “20 pounds of hollywood muscle” was the first one to catch my eye and makes the most sense, but from what I understood, doesn’t playing around with the body’s metabolism like that just end up causing faster fat gain?

The other method, which I REALLY don’t understand was Dr. Beradi’s G-flux principle. I still really don’t understand the advantages of this over the typical bb’ing principle of increasing calories by 500 over maintenance.

Once again, I’m sorry, I know questions like these probably come along all the time. Any help at all is truly appreciated.