T Nation

Gaining Just Fat

If you have read one of my previous posts, you will know that I’m an 18 year old, 131lbs, 5ft 10, with a bf% of around 5%, and that I’ve been training for about 6 months, in which time I’ve put on about 2lb of fat, 1lb of muscle and about 2lb of water.

This is despite hard training in the gym. My calorie intake has been fairly high- about 2800 a day, and been consistantly clean. My question is, how is it possible, when training hard and following a fairly well-structured diet, to gain more fat than muscle?

Advice which has been given to me in order to increase my muscle mass is to eat more, but surely this would only further contribute to a greater fat gain ratio over minimal muscle gain,as has so far been the case?

What you call fairly high is fairly low. Eat more, eat more often and put more weight on the bar everytime you get into the gym. There won’t be a magic answer for you sorry. Five lbs in six months is very very low. Try putting on AT LEAST a lb a week, otherwise you just flat out aren’t eating enough. Good luck with your training.

You should try changing your screenname from Watermelon_2001 to something like Dyanmo_2001 or Unstoppable_2001.

But seriously, how did you measure how much weight you gained from water alone? I didn’t know you could do that, and I find it a little hard to believe, so I am asking you to teach me.

I know you can figure out how much muscle and fat you have, compare over time, and figure out how much you have gained/lost, but water is a major component of both muscle and fat - if you gained X pounds of muscle, some percentage of that is water.

So how did you figure out that you gained 3 pounds of muscle and fat, but 2 pounds of water not including the water in the new 3 pounds of mass? Or did you just drink down 2 pounds of water before weighing yourself?

Read this:

http://www.T-Nation.com/tmagnum/readTopic.do?id=640350

[quote]joshuaforty wrote: