T Nation

Gaining Forearm Mass/Strength

Hello I am new to T-nations! I need help buidling up my forarm mass.I am 14 years old and my arms are really skinny and don't match up with others in my age group. I do have acess to my school workout room and need help learning what should I do there. And I would also like to know what I can do at home to do this too. Anything will be appreciated :smiley:

If your arms don't match up to people in your age group, chances are you lack mass overall. Gain 50 pounds and don't use straps when you lift, your forearms will grow.

At 14, maybe you just haven't hit your growth spurt. Hell, my body didn't really change until I was 20.

Don't worry about bulking your arms. Try to get you're whole body big, and the arms will follow.

But, if you want to focus on forearms while you do that. Wrap a towel around the bars you lift. And try chin-ups while holding onto 2 towels.

Oh, and on how to train the whole body, go to the beginners thread and read the "New to T-Nation?"

I find it very interesting that you are most concerned with the size of your forearms, rather than say, the size of your biceps, which is what kids used to be concerned with.

Your forearms however are a great indicator of how hard you are working. Forearms can take a great deal of work (hey we used to all swing from trees all day) and if they are in good condition it generally reflects the fact that you are working hard.

It is true that you should focus on working all the big muscles though, not forearms directly. Squats, deadlifts.