T Nation

Full Body Workout Plan

Hey guys,

I am pretty new to the workout arena and I hear people talk about volume and intensity. I am 6’1 190lbs and wanting to gain mass.

I decided to initiate a full body workout which I could do 4-5 days per week. I searched articles here and kind of created my own plan. Please review it and tell me what you think.

These are the exercises I will be doing. Most are 3 sets of 8, except for dips and situps.

-Bench Press
-Bicep Curl
-Leg Press
-Military Press
-Rows
-Leg Curl (Don’t know the official name… the one where you lay prone and curl your legs)
-Lat Pulldown
-Dips
-Calf Raises
-Sit Ups

I tried to involve every muscle group and focus more on some others which (maybe shallowly) I want to focus on. I’m not sure if this is too much, just enough, or what. I am already predicting responses along the lines of “No squats?? No deadlifts??!” In my mind (a newbie mind, admittedly) I’ve still hit all the muscle groups so is there still a problem?

Keep in mind I’m not asking for advice on myself or my personal goals, only if this would be an acceptable workout 4-5 days per week. If not, please modify or let me know how to improve it.

You could not maximize v & i with that workload. IMO

Cut back to 3 (maybe 4) workouts a week and bust your hump while you are there–ok maybe. You will need to consistantly rotate the order of your exercises with that workload or you will be seriously shorting the last few exercises consistantly.

But why skip deads? To me, they are the king. Why skip squats?, the queen, if your goal is mass?