Full Body, The Way to Go?

I’ve been working out for two years on and off, recently my lifts have reached a plateau and I’m thinking about doing a basic fullbody routine consisting of pullups/benching and squats or deadlifts. Each workout I would do one lift at around 60% for 6x3, to develop speed. Good way to break a plateau?

Are you trying to add size?

If so, I would just eat more to break through a plateau.

A change in your workouts when hitting the ceiling is typically a good idea.

I’m doing that right now too!

i’d think that 6x3 would give me to strength gains then speed; unless your doing light light weight.

5x5 and Riptoes are both good total body workouts; look’m up!

RSGZ…is that a myspace photo?

tisk tisk.

Yea I was thinking of a modified Bill Starr routine where I would do 5x5 for two lifts and 6x3 @60% for one of the lifts and I’ll add in maybe 2-3 accessory lifts.

[quote]B rocK wrote:
RSGZ…is that a myspace photo?

tisk tisk.[/quote]

Ha!

I need to buy a real camera. Soon. :slight_smile:

[quote]Mondy wrote:
Yea I was thinking of a modified Bill Starr routine where I would do 5x5 for two lifts and 6x3 @60% for one of the lifts and I’ll add in maybe 2-3 accessory lifts. [/quote]

The Bill Starr program worked pretty well for me as is, you don’t have to monkey with a lot of these programs to get them to work well.

That’s party of the reason they’ve been around for a while.

well, you should first assess your current program:

what training modality (if any) were you using? were your goals strength? speed? size? what are your goals now?

it seems you would like to get stronger.

i believe that pullups squats and deadlifts are brilliant and I am certainly not alone in saying that. i would probably substitute dips for benchpress, IMO, because chances are youve been dipping less than you have been benching, havent you? tsk,tsk.