Frustrated with Incline Dumb Bell Press

I have been lifting religiously now for over 9 months. There have been a number of other episodes in my life in which I lifted regularly for a period of months, but this is the longest I have been able to continue without an injury or something else ending it.

For at least the past 4 to 5 months, my incline dumb bell press has not improved at all. I can reliably always press 2 x 80 lbs., but sometimes fail, sometimes succeed with 2 x 85 lbs.

I’ll give some more information below, and would appreciate any advice.

The truly frustrating thing is that I either can do at least 10 reps with 2 x 85 lbs., or fail getting the first rep up. Once both dumb bells get past a certain point, performing another 10+ reps is simple.

The problem seems to be getting both dumb bells from the tops of my thighs / knees to the point the tip of my elbow and shoulder form a straight line (or another way of saying this is the point at which my upper and lower arm are bent at a 90 degree angle). It seems a balance and stability issue, and a weakness issue at certain points of the initial lift. Sometimes one dumb bell or the other will fly out at an angle (painful and frightening with heavy weights), or I succeed with one dumb bell but not the other. Or I simply succeed with both.

I do not have this issue with the dumb bell flat press, or the dumb bell military press. It’s the angle that gets me on that first rep for the incline bench press.

If I have a spotter to help with the first rep, I can use up to 2 x 100 lbs., something I did 5 months ago. I currently do not have a training partner, and cannot reliably get a trusted spotter at my gym.