Frustrated: Volume, Diet & Metabolic Change

Hi!

Let me start by saying that I am an absolute beginner, and I realize that any change will take time (measured in months or years). I understand and acknowledge that. At the same time, I’m beginning to wonder if I’m doing something wrong, because I should have seen SOME change by now.

I’ve been lifting for 5 months. I’m 39, 6’1". When I started, I was 215 lbs, 20% BF, and had trouble with the empty bar for many lifts. I couldn’t do a single BW pullup, nor a single BW dip. 3 pushups would wipe me out. 4 flights of stairs killed me.

Today, I’m 230 lbs, 18% BF, and on a 5x5 program 3x/week. My working lifts as of today:

Squats: 265 lbs
Bench: 170 lbs
Overhead press: 110 lbs
Barbell row: 165 lbs
Deadlift: 250 lbs
Weighted pullups (pronated grip): 10 lbs
Weighted dips: 35 lbs

I also run 4 flights of stairs (up and down) at least twice daily, and usually 3 times (they’re to/from my office), and do 20-30 minutes of moderate-intensity interval cardio on my off days.

I know the weights are puny compared to many (most?) people on T-Nation, but like I said, I’m a beginner. And though it’s not much, I’m proud of my progress when I look back from where I started.

I’m not really worried about the weights. The weights will increase in time as I continue to lift.

My concern and frustration – and the reason for this post – is how my body responds to the exercise and my diet. In short, it doesn’t seem to be responding at all. Sure, my weights are increasing, so my strength must be increasing, but my bodyfat is staying steady at about 18% (measured by calipers).

Here’s a typical diet (it is, in fact, my food for today):

6 Flameout
4 Alpha Male
24 BCAA
2 Carbolin 19
4 double espressos
4 liters water
1 cup cooked rolled oats
6 tsp cinnamon
3 scoops Grow! Whey
3 scoops Low-Carb Metabolic Drive
12 oz. porterhouse steak
3 6 oz. cans tuna
1 oz. cashew nuts
1/2 cup blueberries
1/2 boiled egg
4 cups raw spinach