T Nation

Front Squats... Help

Hey everyone. I’m not trying to get a sob story going on in here or attract attention, but I need some helping with squats. The following paragraph is just some quick background,you don’t have to read it obviously; but it explains my concerns then the next one directly addresses issue(s).

Basically, ever since I started lifting, I have always been very afraid of squats and deadlifts because my grandpa was an olympic weightlifter that did very respectable weights and he messed himself up on a deadlift. Surgeries and surgeries later, the poor guy was still walking around on a cane with lots of pain. The surgeries did nothing for him, his spine got damaged and he had to always be sitting down, in a wheelchair, or struggling to stand up on the cane. This affected his whole family, as he was a provider(worked as a mechanic) and he could never live a normal life again. My mother always talked about this to me and it obviously made me scared because as a child I always saw him struggling before he passed away bless his soul.

Anyways, I have been switching between ATG High Bar & PL Low Bar style squats; I found out yesterday that I can do at least 370pounds powerlifter style, but just woke up with a lot of pain on my vertebrae. I know my form wasn’t bad on them because I learned from people that trained at a top PL gym around here; I also feel it when I am doing High Bar with much lower weight,but nowhere near as bad as when I perform PL style.(wide stance,sit back,low bar,etc)

I don’t want to risk my career as a nurse anesthetist, risk injuring myself, or living a normal life because of this.

I feel like the best and safest thing for me to do would be to switch to FRONT SQUATS. From what I have read/hear, they are much safer for the spine and lower back(and people swear it gives better quad development).