Front Squat Question

I’m new to front squats. So far, I have been going just to parallel. Should I go beyond parallel like back squats? How many of you out there go beyond parallel? Thanks

Yes you should go beyond parallel. If your having trouble going that low, lower the weight until you get the form down.

I would say just beyond parallel is probably fine for most people. I find it easier to go low on front squats than on back anyway.

I go down until I physically can’t do down any lower. Whether it’s front or back squats.

I can hit dead bottom really easy on front squats…getting back up is the hard part.

You should be able to get your butt to hit your calves, if not work on your flexibility in the hips (mine is horrible actually) and lower the weight.

Heavy ATG front squats will leave you walking like a penguin for days.

[quote]Ren wrote:
I can hit dead bottom really easy on front squats…getting back up is the hard part.

You should be able to get your butt to hit your calves, if not work on your flexibility in the hips (mine is horrible actually) and lower the weight.

Heavy ATG front squats will leave you walking like a penguin for days.[/quote]

Absolutely. Go down until you stop. Then go back up.

[video]207[/video]

-folly

Thanks everybody! And special props to Folly for the great video! Can’t wait to go to the gym today!

[quote]jackson44 wrote:
Thanks everybody! And special props to Folly for the great video! Can’t wait to go to the gym today![/quote]

Remember to let us know how you do with it.

-folly

Went well today! The only question is that my knees felt “wobbly.” Should I concentrate on “tighten” my knees when I go down? Does this make any sense to you guys? Thanks

[quote]jackson44 wrote:
Went well today! The only question is that my knees felt “wobbly.” Should I concentrate on “tighten” my knees when I go down? Does this make any sense to you guys? Thanks[/quote]