T Nation

Front Squat Form?

For the next phase in our training cycle, the D3 football team i played for has implemented lots of front squats. I have only ever really toyed with them in the past, and have never done them for long, so my form is pretty shitty.

Im assuming the hips/leg commands that one thinks of when back squatting would be the same, but what about the upper body commands? (ie for back squat it would be, tighten the upper back and arch the lower back and push out with your stomach). Would the commands be the same or do they change?

Thanks

Hey there,
I'm no pro at them but my form is ok I think. Pretty much keep it like a back squat, but I've found that I can actually lean back even more (drive through the heels) with a front squat. However, some people find it easier to try and balance the weight over the middle/front of their foot though.

Coaching cues specific to front squatting:

Elbows high, bar close to your neck, big chest, sit between your feet (rather than sitting back as in a back squat).

it would depend on whether you hold the bar like you would on a clean, or if you cross your hands in front. I cross my hands in front and I find it better to keep my chest and shoulders tight. Elbows should be high either way though

Grab one dumbell ... around 30 pounds. Hold it in your hands so that the dumbell and all your fingers are pointed towards the ceiling. You'll be grabing the top part of the DB from its bottom. Imagine praying with the DB in your hands.

Keep it close to your chest. Squat down between your legs (between!!) ... and press out on your knees with your elbows. (This is Dan John's famous "Goblet Squat" ... google for it). Keep a broad upper body ... "Mr. Universe" or "showing off on the beach".

Stand up. Repeat until you are blue in the face.