Front Squat Form. Emergency Help!

I’m a newb with almost a year training, and now I’m doing front squats because my piece of shit gym doesn’t have a squat rack, only the smith coat rack, which I refuse to use. So now I’m doing cleans and front squats (70kg now).

The problem I think is my upper back, same problem when I was doing normal squats too. It’s not my legs (leg pressing 2 times the 70kg+bodyweight(98kg) with no problem), it’s not my lower back (deadlifting 150kg). I still don’t know much about weightlifting, but I’m almost sure it’s my upper back. When I deadlift I see a bit of a curve in the upper back, and I looked in the mirror today front squatting with only the bar and I still had a big curve up there, with the low back fine.

Is this what it is? If so, what should I do to correct it, traps? I think my traps are up to par though, I shrug with 50kg dumbells with no problem. I don’t know what I should do.

According to

I have the strength of an intermediate bodybuilder in every exercise listed except the squat, where I am between “untrained” and “novice”, leaning toward “untrained”. WTF am I doing wrong?

Back stability comes from you upper back. In DL tuck your shoulder blades together. In FrSq make sure the bar is balancing on your shoulders which you will raise up. then make sure your elbows are high. After that you just have to focus on keeping a straight upper back, there’s nothing more to it. Concentrate on form basically. Extra rows might also help build general strength.

-chris

That is my weak link in the front squat, also.

The way I corrected it was: keeping my elbows high, looking straight and getting good shoes.

There are lots of things you can do to help avoid this. The first thing you can do is to front squat more. In my opinion nothing prepares you for front squats like front squats. You can do extra upper back work, but nothing will really give you the benefits of front squatting itself.