Front Squat Advice?

First some info on my situation. I am a coach at a large HS in Texas, and in charge of the weightroom and workouts for all football player. When I got here last year the weight program was a disgrace, thru a long process including the head coach leaving, we have started to change the atmosphere and attitude in the weightroom. During the winter and this spring we have focus on major core lifts and have made major strides.

I am already putting an in-season program together for next year and I am thinking about using front squats during the season rather than back squats at least once a week.

We will still do back squats early in the week, but I’m thinking that by doing front squats later in the week or the day after the game we can reduce the risk of injury but still get the strength benefits. Is anyone else doing this?

I would say the only hurdle your going to face with the front squats is the form. Most athletes have a really hard time with the arm position needed to perform this lift properly. Other than that, I see no problem with switching back and front squats up. Just watch the loading and your athletes should be fine. The key is to start rotating in the front squats now, so when doing them in-season they aren’t brand new for the athletes.

[quote]Steamroller wrote:
First some info on my situation. I am a coach at a large HS in Texas, and in charge of the weightroom and workouts for all football player. When I got here last year the weight program was a disgrace, thru a long process including the head coach leaving, we have started to change the atmosphere and attitude in the weightroom. During the winter and this spring we have focus on major core lifts and have made major strides.

I am already putting an in-season program together for next year and I am thinking about using front squats during the season rather than back squats at least once a week.