Front Squat Acheivement

When I started lifting in August, I could barely back squat 185X3. I switched to front squats a couple of months ago because they put less stress on my lower back. Yesterday I front squated 2X6,2X5 and 2X4 at 185. 30 reps but took me 6 sets. Still weak but I just wanted to give myself a little pat on the back. My goal for the next 6 months is 225 front squat. Thanks to everyone on this site for all the useful info.

Good progress so far. Smoke your goal and then go for 275 :slight_smile:

Yeah keep it up. Yeah back squats were jacking up my back. So front squats are a saviour to me. I worked up to 225 for a couple reps and it was brutal. Now I’m sitting around 205 just working on form and upping weight accordingly

You can get 225 alot sooner then 6 months:D. I would love to hit 315+ for reps by the end of the year or sooner.

I am going to work for 225 sooner than 6 months. I wanted a realistic goal. When I beat it, great! 315 fronts would be like killer hawt abs bro! I could live with 315 for a month or so. Lift heavy or go home! is my new mantra.

Im going for 225 in my front squat today… its a major exercise !!

Good work bro keep the progress coming !

Blunt,did you hit it today? If so, good job!

How do (full) front squats compare to back squats for athletic goals? Say speed and vertical jump gains.

How do (full) front squats compare to back squats for athletic goals? Say speed and vertical jump gains.

I think you can’t go wrong with either. They will both improve your speed and athletic ability.

I don’t really have back problems so I tend to favor the back squat. More weight = more force = greater explosion.

Don’t get me wrong though. I back squat one day per week and I front squat one day per week.