T Nation

Front Raises for Bodybuilding

hey guys im curious who here does front raises, I know alot of people say u get enough front delt work from pressing but I tried them today and they lit my shoulers up. SO for all the people who train strictly for bodybuilding what ur opionon on front raises?

I do them. I like to go beyond parallel. Don’t get carried away or you could develop an imbalance. I’m really no expert, but you asked who does them. I do side/front/rear delt raises after my pressing.

Occassionally I’ll throw them in just for variety’s sake. Nothing too heavy, no swinging, and just up to parallel with a neutral (thumbs up) grip to really stress the anterior head.

S

[quote]The Mighty Stu wrote:
Occassionally I’ll throw them in just for variety’s sake. Nothing too heavy, no swinging, and just up to parallel with a neutral (thumbs up) grip to really stress the anterior head.

S
[/quote]
By thumb up do you mean not wrapped around the bar? So you’re only holding the weight with your 4 fingers?

i like to incorporate them in my delt workouts as part of a superset - usually pre-exhaust style and sometimes post exhaust to change things up. i personally don’t feel i get enough out of them as a stand alone exercise.

no he means palms facing in, it’s just another way to hit the anterior head from a different angle; the same can be done for the medial head with palms facing straight in front of you.

hammer grip. neutral grip like your skiing or some shit!

Oh ok, I’ll give it a try. Thanks. I’ve found my hands turning at a 45 degree angle when doing front raises.

I also agree with 1morerep.

I prefer to start them in a neutral grip and rotate to a palm facing down while coming across my body finishing the contraction towards the other delt, well basically across midline.

I feel that by doing them this way I get a better contraction.