T Nation

From Fat Nerd to Frank N. Furter

FROM FAT NERD TO FRANK N. FURTER

Introduction

I’m gonna start updating my new training regimen on here; I feel like having my stats be more public might spur me on to keep up with exercising regularly, especially if people don’t mind giving input/advice if/when they see me making potential mistakes.

A little backstory on the title of this thread: I’ve been a (relatively overweight) theatre/video game nerd for a vast majority of my life. I graduated from Western Washington University with a B.A. in Acting and Dramatic Writing (yes, I know, fantastic way to get in debt) and noticed that I was starting to get type-cast in bigger-guy or comedic-relief roles. I want to get myself in a position where I can be more flexible (figuratively and literally, I suppose) with different acting choices. There was a time where I had gotten down to about 215lbs, and would desperately love to get back to that point.

I’ve recently taken on the role of Frank N. Furter in my community’s shadowcast production of The Rocky Horror Picture Show, which goes up the end of each September and kicks off our local Halloween festival (in which I also participate as several different characters). My goal for the next few months is to get myself in better shape than I was last year, and I suppose just in better shape period.

Below is a photo of me in costume last year (warning: picture of a fat guy in a corset and little else):

At the moment, I’m a bit bigger than in this photo, and with September just on the other side of this season, I don’t feel I have much time to tone down before I have to get into that get-up again. While I have zero shame in wearing costumes like this, there is a certain point where you realize, “as good/bad as I’m actually acting, people are just seeing a fat guy in a corset”, and it really puts all your health choices in perspective.