T Nation

freshman 15

Hi, I’m looking for some tips on fat loss, specifically in my diet. Basically whats happened is that I’ve gained the freshman 15, and I’m having trouble getting it off. I’m female, and about a year ago I was at a steady weight of 120, and now I’m at 135 and climbing.

My workouts consist of MTRF 5 sets, 5 reps of heavy weights for 3 lifts and 30 minutes of running. WS are interval runs with combination of bodyweight exercises and jumping rope. S is off, or a light run.

I probably don’t have the most ideal diet because of my meal plan here at school, but theoretically it goes like this: 2 eggs and fruit at 9 after i workout, chicken salad 3 hrs later, banana 3 hrs later, turkey sandwich and veggies 3 hrs later. Now it has been known to happen that I go on a cookie binge, or munch on snacks after dinner, but generally thats what Ive been sticking to for a few months.

So I feel like my workouts are going well, and my diet stays consistent for the most part, so what am I doing wrong that is making me continue to gain weight? I guess I should be more specific, my real motives are to be able to fit in my old clothes, or lose body fat, not necessarily lose weight. Thanks for any advice.

Well katobie, I’m glad you decided to post. This site can be a bit intimidating to a girl just getting started. How did you stumble onto us?

First, you have to ask yourself what has changed between your current state of condition, and the condition you were in when you were comfortable with yourself. Obviously something changed to gain 15lbs in less than a year.

Being in college myself, I would guess that drinking has played a part. Of course that is purely speculation on my part.

Also, the cookie binges - need to cut that shit out.

You didn’t mention anything about alcohol…that’s usually the culprit.

forgive me if you don’t drink…otherwise, you have choices to make.

Best of luck

Paging Tampa Terry. To the Forum STAT.

Katobie,