T Nation

Frequency of Routing and Overtraining

Hi,

First, great forum. Given that I'm a newby it's tough for me to make a judgement on it, but it certainly seems the most informed from the ones I've been reading.

Anyway, I just need some feedback on my routine. As background, I'm 6 foot 3 inches and about 180 - pretty lanky - and 36 years old. I'm a hard gainer (in fact I have an allergy to gluten which affects my nutrition intake unless I'm really careful.) I've been training for about three months now and am happy to see some improvement. I am following for the most part the advice of Stuart McRobert in Beyond Brawn. I am afraid of overtraining so I do the same routine every five days:

2 sets of situps to fatigue
2x20 squats
3x... dumbell presses
3x... lat pulldowns
3x... military presses
3x... dumbell rows

Now, the ... is that each session I try to add one rep. That is, in Beyond Brawn it is suggested to add 1lb per session. However, dumbbells only go up in 5lb increments. So, to progress, what I'm doing is every session I add a rep (if I can). Once I hit 12 reps, then I the next session drop down to 6 reps with the next 5 lb increment. E.g.

session 1 3x11 @ 45lbs
session 2 3x12 @ 45lbs
session 3 3x6 @ 50lbs
session 4 3x7 @50lbs

Is this a good way of doing things? If not, what is an alternative?

Should I/could I be training more? Should I divide this up into two routines and add, say, deadlifts? If so, how far apart should they be? How do I keep from overtraining one muscle group?

Anyway, I'm still really new and am not at all confident I'm doing the right thing, so any advice would be really appreciated.

Dividing it into two routines would be a good start. Definitely add Deadlifts. Bench Press is a must have exercise for physique development.

I’m not sure if I have this right but are you training once every 5 days? 3 days a week is the normal amount for most people.