T Nation

Free Weights Are EVIL!!

I needed an attention grapping title, so I hope it worked. I am a strength and conditioning coach of high school in NJ. My superiors who do not know anything about training, maybe what they learned 2-30 years ago, want to remove my power racks and platforms in order to put in more user friendly treadmills and cardio equipment. I'm in the middle of preparing my last stand to save my weightroom and my sanity. Any help in this matter would be great.

rizsa

Give them each a copy of Science and Practice of Strength Training, point out that every successful sports program in the country, regardless of level, includes weight training, point out some of the 100's of studies showing free weights are better at improving body comp, and point out a bunch of studies (search for Faugenbaum(sp?), Avery, Kraemer, among others) showing how weight training is safe for kids, and last but not least, make disparaging comments regarding their mother's lineage.

If they already have the weights, wanting to get rid of them is rediculous.

-Dan

Sorry, you are probably screwed. At best try to meet some where in the middle and one or two.
Possibly go around to all your district schools and see what they have. If you tell your boss that you will now be the only school without ... then maybe they will catch on.
To be honest, many more people will use the new equipment, that's just how it is.
If you lose everything, try sandbags and dumbbells instead of barbells, the kids might like the challange.

Not that I don't believe you, just trying to make a point for you. It's tough to believe that a school (public?) would want to spend time and money to GET RID OF weights and then spend more time and money to get treadmills and cardio equipment. Especially when "treadmill work" and cardio can be done outside with little to no equipment.