Frank Zane's 'The Workouts: Personal Training Diaries' Book

Has anyone tried the program in this? I have been lifting weights for about six years now and want to do something different. Zane has been an idol f mine. The book contains a full year of programming day-to-day laid out. Would you guys be interested if I ran the program and logged it?

sure, why not. Zane was a bad mofo

[quote]alexmiezin wrote:
Has anyone tried the program in this?[/quote]
I’m not familiar with that book, but I do have Mind, Body, and Spirit which was kinda interesting, if not a little trippy and wandering.

He generally seems to stick with a push, pull, legs split (chest/shoulder/tris, back/bis, legs, with abs whenever or with cardio). If it suits your goals, I say go for it.

Will you still do it if nobody’s interested? That’s the deeper question that Zane would appreciate. :wink:

I did subscribe to his quarterly newsletter several years ago and I always found some cool info in those. One of my faves was his description of one summer he did nothing but train:

[quote]"There were 2 months of solid training before I started my new job teaching math at a High School in St. Petersburg, some 20 miles away.

It was a simple lifestyle: Up at 7am, have 6 eggs for breakfast and hit the Tampa Bay beach by 10am. After a few hours of sun, get lunch consisting of one pound of fish at the nearby Mullet Inn, go home, take a nap and start my workout by 3:30pm, finishing by 6pm. Dinner was a pound of flank steak with a scoop of cottage cheese and a salad. After reading a few hours I’d go to bed 11pm…

That summer I trained 6 days a week with simple equipment: dumbbells, barbell, squat rack, preacher bench, leg extension/leg curl, lat machine, power rack, dip bars. I did a 2 way split routine: back, biceps, forearms, thighs, calves and abs one day, followed by chest, shoulders, triceps, abs the next. I did no aerobics and once a week would drive to Tampa to train at Smith’s Gym.