T Nation

Frank Mirs Weight Training ....

...routine before the brock lesnar fight?

???

who the hell would know that

LOL. why? You wanna follow the routine so you can get your ass kicked too?

yeah, why not ask for the winner’s weight lifter routine? He was the bigger and stronger fighter in that match anyhow. And if you wanna know his, this is all I have:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tWm_CANid0

He looked like he was in pretty good shape. I would be interested in the S&C routines of some the HWs. They better be doing some work with heavy weights given the giants they have to fight. I am no expert but I always thought that strongman-type training would benefit combat athletes. I think Carwin does some olympic lifts. I think Gonzaga was doing some powerlifting before fighting Carwin. I guess I would do both types of training with variation in exercises and implements.

I have come across workouts from various MMA atheletes and they usually do not focus on heavy weights and strength. I also couln’t help but notice all the bodybuilding machines in Lesnar’s gym. I can’t think of a machine I would waste my time with when training for combat sports. maybe lat PD machine to do standing ab work.

Maybe we ought to prod some of the tnation contributors to do more articles on strength training for MMA. I would imagine many of them are starting to train MMA fighters. I have seen a few but I seem to remember them focusing on energy system training. Are they not training for limit strength or explosiveness?