T Nation

Four60 - Newbies Part 2 Including Me

Alright so I was skimming through the threads and dawned upon Four60's. As I continued to read every other post I realized there is money in this. Everything seems to be getting so technology orientated that "basic" things people should know aren't being taught or people don't care to learn.

I'm not saying I know a lot of things and this actually kinda bugs me. I'll admit I am 20 years old and I have no clue how to change a tire.

On the flip side I am an electrician so I am very good with hands on things, and well I've always been a "practical" kinda guy...good with my hands, creative when it comes to fixing things etc.

So in this thread I want to compile a list of things I want to learn, and maybe some of you can invest the time to learn as well. I want to learn how to do these things effieciantly in the next 2 years.

1) When I was a kid I used to go fishing with my dad..I'd watch him cut it open, clean out the guts, I'd pop the "bubble" in the fish haha, and he'd skin it, cook it etc etc. but I have never done it...so that is on my list. Catch a fish, clean it, skin it, and BBQ it! I'm sure many men on this site have done this!

2) Change a tire lol

3) Learn more about cars in general...I don't know ANYTHING about cars, I just REALLY like to drive...I can parallel park great, I have no problem backing up (I can actually do this very fast and maneuver. I ALWAYS back up into the parking lots..anyways I'd definately consider myself a good driver with good skills.
But I want to learn PARTS about the car, how it works, how to change oil, blown fuses etc etc.

4) I saw welding on the list in the other thread..it would be cool to learn, but then again if I was stranded somewhere I MOST LIKELY would not have a welding machine lol. But nonetheless something cool to learn.