T Nation

Former Powerlifter HPTA Shutdown?

New to this forum, I’d greatly appreciate any constructive advice. I started lifting weights at a very young age, maybe 12. I was a collegiate powerlifter until I was injured in my junior year and got hooked on pain pills. Got sober at 24 and ran my first 12 week cycle of test a year later. I’m 31 now and have probably done at least 5 cycles.

I got married and stopped lifting for about a year, gained a lot of fat. I lost my interest in sex, ed and had no motivation to get in the gym. I recently decided I’d had enough and forced myself to workout, no energy, always tired and achey. I should’ve went to a doctor but started running 500mg of Test C a week and I feel like a new man. It was almost over night that I started feeling better. All of my previous symptoms are gone.

I’ve been back in the gym a couple months. Now I’m a pretty big guy, I’m 6’4” 290 lbs at around 26% body fat. My bench is in the 400s for the first time in years. Im using aromasin ED because of my bf %. I’d started getting some moon face early on but my E2 seems to be under control now. Without the test I was so depressed and felt so unhealthy.

I’ve seen a lot of disdain for people with higher body fat using gear but I feel like its a lot more unhealthy for me to be without it at this point. Other than the e2 sides, is there anything else I should be worried about being at a higher bf%? Much appreciated
B

post a pic, you’re a giant

1 Like

Do you plan to come down to a cruise dose and stay there? Seems like you’d benifit from one. You never mention PCT in prior cycles, is that something you skipped?

I wouldn’t stay at 500 mg/wk indefinitely. You should be able to feel pretty good on a lower dose. Maybe try out 200-250 mg/wk. Focus on some fat loss until you are in the teens for BF.

1 Like